Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering (AECE) Minutes of Annual Business Meeting Thursday, April 20, 2006

Attendees:

Richard Eimer	Kelvin Erickson	Greg Harris	Thomas Herrick
Wilson Hughes	Leonard Laskowski	Dennis Leitterman	James Leonard
Sandra Martin	Jack Morris	Harvey Randall	Walter Reed
George Schindler	Donald Shaw	Keith Stanek	Paul Stigall
Robert Strain	George Tomazi	Thomas Van Doren	Roger Volk
Ralph Wolfram	-		-

The annual Meeting of the Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering was held Thursday, April 20 and called to order at 8:15 a.m. in the Faculty Lounge located at Emerson Electric Company Hall. President Don Shaw chaired the meeting.

Department Chair, Dr. Kelvin Erickson, welcomed the Academy members and then turned the meeting over to Don Shaw.

George Tomazi made a motion to approve the minutes and budget of April 8, 2005 with the correction that Ralph Wolfram attended the meeting, but his name was left off the list. Dennis Leitterman seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Greg Harris explained MOHELA (Missouri Higher Education Loan Authority) and endowed scholarships.

Dr. Kurt Kosbar reported that the Academy awarded four scholarship this year for \$1,500 each to Kevin Thomas Breitenstein, John Regis Koch, Eric Takashi Peters, and Michael B. Brown. Dr. Kosbar reported that the new endowed scholarship should be able to award scholarships in fall 2006. The new endowed scholarships are only for freshmen whose families' Federal adjusted gross income is less than or equal to \$40,000 a year. The Academy can still grant scholarships to sophomores, juniors or seniors through the regular Academy account.

Kevin Thomas Breitenstein was awarded a \$1,500 scholarship. Kevin is a sophomore and a dual major in Electrical Engineering and Computer Engineering. His grade point average is 3.587. One of Kevin's goals is to graduate Magna Cum Laude. He plans to start an undergraduate research project in late fall of this year. He is interested in small scale electronics.

Greg Harris showed a video about development at UMR and talked about gifts. He explained the importance of donor gifts that are made to the university. Greg also talked about UMR's new capital campaign.

John Regis Koch was awarded a \$1,500 scholarship. John enrolled at UMR in the fall of 2003. He is a member of Kappa Mu Epsilon and Upsilon Phi Epsilon. John is doing undergraduate research with Dr. Sahra Sedigh-Ali. John will graduate from UMR in May 2007 with bachelors degree in computer engineering, computer science, and electrical engineering.

Dr. Erickson reported that the department has 421 students (137 CpE & 284 EE) and 126 graduate students (30 CpE & 96 EE). The department has 31 faculty, 3 lecturers and 15 staff. Dr. Yahong (Rosa) Zheng (Communications) is our newest faculty member. Dr. Erickson stated that his top three priorities for the department are the new building addition, new graduate fellowship endowments, and two new endowed professorships. The department is in desperate need of a new building addition. The plans call for the new addition to have 25,000 sq. ft. that is assignable (useful) at a projected cost of \$16M. The department anticipates having to raise nearly all of the \$16M cost. The department is in desperate need of this new addition, so the department can grow.

Eric Takashi Peters was awarded a \$1,500 scholarship. Eric is a senior in electrical engineering. He has already graduated with his BS in CpE December 2005 Summa Cum Laude. He plans to graduate with his BS in EE in December 2006. Eric is most proud of his senior design project – MOKI. The MOKI is an integrated wireless, handheld mouse/keyboard. Eric is interested in embedded system software, digital signal processing and 3D audio.

Michael B. Brown was awarded a \$1,500 scholarship. Michael is married with two small children. Michael joined the Army National Guard to help pay for school. He is working on a dual degree in electrical engineering and computer engineering. Michael expects to graduate in December 2008. He would like to start a career in the defense industry and continue his career in the National Guard.

Academy President Don Shaw opened the afternoon business meeting.

Don Shaw introduced Wilson Hughes and Harvey Randall as new inductees who were able to attend the business meeting and welcomed them into the Academy.

George Schindler made a motion to approve the proposed budget for 2006-07. Dennis Leitterman seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Richard Eimer asked the board to discuss and vote on the implementation of scholarship money for both the regular Academy account and the new endowed scholarship. Don Shaw made the motion to keep awarding scholarships from the regular/original Academy account to upper classmen. Dr. Keith Stanek seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Walter Reed made a motion to stagger the scholarships in the new endowed account to freshman, sophomore, and junior students. Jim Leonard seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Richard Eimer made a motion to elect Roger Volk and George Schindler to the Board of Directors with their two year appointments to end at the 2009 board meeting. Dr. Keith Stanek seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Dr. Keith Stanek made a motion to elect George Schindler as Chairperson for the Membership Committee for one year to end at the 2007 board meeting. Richard Eimer seconded the motion. Motion carried.

Dr. Shoukat Ali, Assistant Professor, who joined UMR in fall 2003 as a computer engineering faculty gave a presentation on his teaching and research at UMR. Dr. Ali received his Ph.D. (2003) and M.S. in Electrical Engineering from Purdue University. He received his B.S. E.E. in 1996 from the University of Engineering and Technology in Lahore, Pakistan. Dr. Ali enjoys teaching and developing computer architecture courses. His research is directed at making computer and network systems more robust. He has published seven journal papers, seventeen conference papers and one book chapter. Dr. Ali currently has three graduate students.

Dr. Daryl Beetner, Assistant Chair for Computer Engineering Undergraduate Studies and Dr. Steve Watkins, Assistant Chair for Electrical Engineering Undergraduate Studies presented their proposed curriculum changes for both programs. Both Dr. Beetner and Dr. Watkins asked the Academy for feedback on the proposed changes. Discussion followed. The Academy members present at the meeting supported the new proposed curriculum changes.

Dennis Leitterman made a motion to adjourn. Richard Eimer seconded the motion. Motion carried. The meeting was adjourned by Don Shaw at 3:50 pm.

The next Board Meeting and Banquet of the Academy of Electrical and Computer Engineering will be *Thursday, April 26, 2007*. Please note the change for the day of the week. Mark your calendars and plan to attend.

Minutes submitted by Richard Eimer

May 31, 2006